Searching through life’s trials

“Some things in life are sent to try you”. Don’t know if you have ever heard these words uttered, maybe after you’ve went through a particularly trying time or difficult experience. How you react and respond in these times says a lot about you as you are, and possibly the person you will become as a result.  When things go abit Pete Tong, when life gets tough, when difficult experiences come our way we often ask the question “Why?”. One of the big questions asked by those seeking answers to life’s questions is “Why does God allow bad things to happen to good people?”. Now I’m not gonna attempt to answer that here, but simply share some musings from my journey along the road thus far.  U2 sing of how “I still haven’t found what i’m looking for”, Travis sang of “Driftwood, floating on the water, breaking into pieces…”, The Script sing of how “You gotta stand for something or you’ll fall for anything”, Eminem speaks of how “I am whatever you say I am” and I could go on.  We’re all searching for meaning and significance as we journey through life, but so often are looking in all the wrong places.  Jeremiah 29:13 puts it like this “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Something i’ve come to realise and believe in over the years (getting very reflective in my old age) is that everything in life happens for a reason, and I have come to believe everything happens within the will of God.  God doesn’t do accidents or mistakes, that’s our part, but sometimes we don’t always see his purposes in the trials life throws our way till we are further down the road and looking back.  That’s certainly been my faith journey, looking back and seeing how God has shaped and moulded me through the losses, hurts, pains and mistakes i’ve made and experienced on the journey of life so far.  How he reached down and rescued me from a life where I was simply drifting along, going with the flow, searching for meaning and purpose in the empty and shallow places of this world that didn’t fill the longing in my heart to worship something greater, something more than this world has to offer.  It was through the trials of life that he rescued me, and revealed to me the forgiveness and grace that I longed for was only to be found in Christ.

The journey since then hasn’t been free from failures / mistakes / pain / hurt, but it has certainly taken on a new found significance and purpose, and I know the assurance of a Heavenly Father who loves me and longs for me to worship Him fully with my life, getting to know Him better as I surrender more of my will and ways into His hands.  Some words found earlier in Jeremiah 29:11 are as follows “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

So thats where i’m at right now on the journey, learning to trust in that promise and surrender my plans into His hands as I seek to live my life in response to “His Amazing Grace that saved a wretch like me.”  But enough about me, what about you?…………

About col4man

Sinner in rehab - work in progress

Posted on July 8, 2011, in faith, life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. nice colin. really great post.. like this a lot!

Leave a Reply

